Welcome from the Chair of the Scientific Committee

Dear Colleagues,

The Aberdeen symposium will provide a forum for disseminating research findings on new approaches to patient care that have a focus on new drugs and new ways of working. In primary and secondary care, the role of pharmacist prescribing has been shown to be effective at improving medicines use and patient outcomes. Prescribing by pharmacists is becoming more routine across different sectors of practice and the lessons learned from these experiences will be discussed and considered during the symposium

As new and innovative clinical pharmacy services that improve medicines use and patient outcomes are designed across the world, clinical pharmacy is entering a ‘brave new world’ of practice. To support the advancement of clinical pharmacy practice there is a need to consider how the education and training of future graduates and current practitioners needs to evolve to deliver on this agenda. Education will therefore be a theme running throughout the symposium so that delegates can share and discuss new and innovative approaches to clinical pharmacy education, development, and delivery. It is also recognised that whilst individual practitioners advance their own clinical pharmacy practice, truly impactful outcomes are most readily achieved through multidisciplinary team working. Delegates at the symposium will also be invited to consider and discuss how the wide pharmacy team can work together to advanced clinical pharmacy practice to optimise outcomes for patients and society.

The ESCP Symposium in Aberdeen is an excellent opportunity to enjoy discussions with specialists and share experience with others from all around Europe, in one of the finest cities of Scotland.

Looking forward to meeting you in Aberdeen, Scotland in Autumn 2023.

Brian Addison,
Symposium President and Chair of the Scientific Committee

Committees and Committee Members

Organising Committee

Martin Henman (Chair), Ireland
Mina Kovacevic (ESCP Communication Committee), Slovenia
Trudi McIntosh, Scotland
Anita de Smet (ESCP International Office), Netherlands
Edwin van Aalten (ESCP International Office), Netherlands

Scientific Committee

Brian Addison (Chair), Scotland
Anne Boyter, Scotland
Ankie Hazen (ESCP Research Committee), Netherlands
Derek Stewart (ESCP President), Qatar
Matej Stuhec, Slovenia
Anita Weidmann, Austria