The European Society of Clinical Pharmacy (ESCP) is an international scientific society founded in 1979 by clinical practitioners, researchers and educators. We constantly support the development of the clinical pharmacy and innovative practice by all members of the pharmacy team in all settings.

Our mission is to promote, support, implement and advance education, practice and research in clinical pharmacy in order to optimize outcomes for patients and society.

General Committee is the leadership committee, with all committee members elected by the ESCP members. The ESCP President is Chair of the General Committee. The Executive Committee of the General Committee comprises the President, Vice President, Past President, Treasurer and Secretary.

The General Committee is supported by working committees, with specific responsibilities. These committees are

Communication Committee

– Education Committee

– Research Committee

– Special Interest Groups (SIG) Council

The International Office comprises the ESCP Director and Deputy Director.

All ESCP members are given the opportunity to influence decisions and approve actions during the annual General Assembly, which is the ultimate decision-making body of ESCP.

The managing structure and governance of the Society is explained below.

The ESCP constitution can be accessed below

Strategic plan

The ESCP strategic plan for 2022-2024 was launched at the General Assembly meeting in December 2021. The three strategic goals are:

  1. Increase the global membership of the society amongst pharmacists, pharmacy academics, pharmacy technicians, pharmacy students, other healthcare professionals, educators and scientists, aligned with the ESCP vision and mission.
  2. Expand the portfolio of high quality practice, education and research products meeting the needs of ESCP members and non-members, advancing global clinical pharmacy 
  3. Ensure the financial stability of ESCP in the medium to long term

There are several initiatives associated with these strategic goals, which are being actioned and monitored. While the ESCP committees are responsible for delivering these goals, each ESCP member plays an important part.

ESCP President

The current ESCP President is Dr Monika Lutters. She is lead pharmacist at Kantonsspital Aarau in Switzerland.

ESCP Past Presidents are:

2019-2023Derek Stewart, Qatar (United Kingdom)
2017-2019Bart van den Bemt The Netherlands
2016-2017Olivier Bourdon France
2014-2016Markus Lampert Switzerland
2012-2014Siska Desplenter Belgium
2010-2012Cecilia Bernsten Sweden
2008-2010Frank Jorgensen Norway 
2006-2008Gert Laekeman Belgium 
2004-2006Jiri Vlcek Czech Republic
2002-2004Jacqueline Grassin Canada
2000-2002Yechiel Hekster The Netherlands
1998-2000Giovanna Scroccaro Italy
1996-1998Georges Zelger Switzerland
1994-1996Ruud Dessing The Netherlands
1992-1994Gerhard Carstens Germany
1990-1992Jean Pierre Delporte Belgium
1988-1990Adrian Shafford United Kingdom
1985-1987Aranda da Silva Portugal
 1983-1985Gilles Aulagner France
 1981-1983Joaquim Bonal Spain
1979-1981Eppo van der Kleijn The Netherlands

ESCP Fellows

ESCP Fellow is the highest level of recognition which can be awarded to an ESCP member. It is awarded in recognition of the outstanding contributions to the advancement of clinical pharmacy in general and in Europe in particular, as well as service to ESCP. Each year, members have the opportunity to nominate individuals, with nominations assessed by a panel of the General Committee.

ESCP fellows and the year they were awarded are

2023Vibhu Paudyal, United Kingdom
Tobias Dreischulte, Germany
2022Filipa Alvez da Costa, Portugal
Bart van den Bemt, The Netherlands
Hege Salvesen Blix, Norway
Stephane Steurbaut, Belgium
2021Vera Jordan-von Gunten, Switzerland
Daniela Scala, Italy
2019Lilian Azzopardi, Malta
2018Markus Lampert, Switzerland
Mara Pereira Guerreiro, Portugal
2017Mikael Daouphars, France
Siska Desplenter, Belgium
Anne Leendertse, The Netherlands
2016Marcel Bouvy, The Netherlands
Anne Gilchrist, United Kingdom
2015Georges Zelger, Switzerland
2014Hannelore Kreckel, Germany
Piera Polidori, Italy
2013Martin Henman, Ireland
Louise Mallet, Canada
Sam Salek, United Kingdom
Martin Schultz, Germany
2012Johnny Beney, Switzerland
Margarida Caramona, Portugal
Marie-Caroline Husson, France
Foppe van Mil, The Netherlands
Heidi Sørensen, Denmark/The Netherlands
2011Ruud Dessing, The Netherlands
Yechiel (Chiel) Hekster, the Netherlands
Fikret Y. Izzettin, Turkey
Pat Murray, United Kingdom
2010Erik Gerbrands, The Netherlands
Gert Laekeman, Belgium
Bert Leufkens, The Netherlands
Francesca Venturini, Italy
2009Henk Buurma, Netherlands
Han de Gier, Netherlands
Yolande Hanssens, Qatar
Kurt Hersberger, Switzerland
Stephen (‘Steve’) Hudson, Scotland, United Kingdom
Moira Kinnear, Scotland, United Kingdom